Distracted driving is a major cause of automobile accidents causing serious personal injury. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, distracted driving has caused more than 50% of crashes involving teen drivers and results in more than 1,000 injuries every day in the United States. It is important to talk to teenage drivers about driving distractions and safe driving habits. The most frequent driving distractions are as follows:
- Cell phone use while driving
- Changing the radio station on the car stereo
- Driving with pets in the vehicle
- Adjusting the air conditioning or heating temperature controls
- Searching for items on the floor, passenger seat or back seat of the car
- Applying or checking makeup
- Eating or drinking while driving
- Turning to look at a traffic accident or activity on the side of the road
- Scrolling through email, social media accounts or other smart phone apps, including composing, sending, reading or browsing electronic data such as email, text messages or websites.
IN ORDER TO AVOID DISTRACTIONS PLEASE FOLLOW THE FOLLOWING RULES:
1. Turn off your cell phone and put it away.
2. Get a hands-free device to call in case of emergencies
3. Make sure children and pets are secure
4. Do not eat or drink while driving
5. Program your GPS before you leave
DISTRACTED DRIVING IS ILLEGAL IN MICHIGAN
Michigan law prohibits a driver from reading, manually typing, or sending a text message while driving. Driving is defined as: operating a moving motor vehicle on a street or highway.
- $100 fine for first offense, $200 for subsequent offenses.
- No points are assessed on a driving record.
- Exceptions are in place for reporting crashes, crimes or other emergencies.
(See Michigan Complied Law 257.602b)
The texting and driving law does not apply to hands-free cell phones and devices. The texting ban only applies to a phone that is located in the person’s hand or in the lap.
- A texting driver who causes, “the death of another person,” is guilty of a misdemeanor
and could be sent to jail for a year and/or ordered to pay a fine of $2,000. (MCL
- A texting driver who causes, “serious impairment of a body function to another
person,” is guilty of a misdemeanor and could be sent to jail for up to 93 days and/or
ordered to pay a fine of $500. (MCL 257.601d(2)).
PERSONAL INJURY LAWSUITS AND DISTRACTED DRIVING
If you have been injured in a car accident that was not your fault, you have every right to file a claim against the responsible party. Distracted driving clearly contributes to causing accidents, and sometimes causes serious injuries.
It is important to retain an attorney as soon as possible after an accident to preserve evidence that can be used to prove that the other driver was distracted by the use of electronic devices. Cell phone carriers vary on retention policies regarding storage of this information so it is important to have an attorney attempt to obtain this information as soon as possible in legal proceedings.
If you’re looking for an experienced personal injury attorney you can trust in Michigan, please contact us online at logeman.com, Logeman, Iafrate & Logeman, P.C. today or call (866) 992-0200 toll free, for a Free Consultation.